Okapi Guitars: Westie

westiecover    westielabel

Kick Me 7:37
Vigilante 6:31
Summon Your Soul  7:23
Cooee 5:45
Radio Mali 5:54
Blair 5:25
Sorry 5:36
Viajero 4:43

“…West and Central African urban guitar-based styles … lovely swinging grooves … intriguing moments that pulse and stimulate … deserves to be more widely heard…” (Diaspora World Beat issue 8, Spring 2001)

The Okapis have armed themselves with some new sonic tools to produce this collection of afrobeat and mambo tunes. Driven by guitar and percussion, the big Sahara-surround sound is augmented by musical friends on trumpet, saxophone and backing vocals.

Comments are closed.